About happiness

Happiness

She says, by @mammapolitico

So –  a blog post about happiness. That’s a tall order, maybe even an impossible thing to write on the wrong day, you might be thinking?

It’s funny how what makes you happy changes throughout your life. As a five year old child getting the toy I desperately wanted for Christmas made me ecstatically happy. For months I had dreamt about a Tiny Tears doll and a pram. To this day I can still remember that overwhelming feeling of this is it … It’s here! The thing I have always wanted is mine and I will never, ever, be sad again. After about a week the novelty had worn off and the pram became just another toy I owned, but the memory of my Grandparents giving it to me, even years, later makes me happy again.

Now though happiness is a different concept altogether. Being a Mum to five amazing children, my happiness is wrapped up in their happiness. When my kids are happy it’s infectious – a warm glow of silliness and love that usually starts with one of them saying something funny. A big hug of happiness reaches me when I hear them laughing and joking with each other in the next room.

For me though, happiness is a lifestyle choice. What I mean by that is perfectly put by Ralph Waldo Emerson, one of my favourite American Poets:

“For every minute you waste being angry you lose sixty seconds of happiness”.

This year for me has been really difficult. I could have got angry, really angry, but I’ve always thought anger is a wasted emotion. Anger wears you out and gets you nowhere. Things that have happened in the last few months have been so unhappy that they could have squashed my spirit forever. Something in me though, doesn’t give up. Wherever it came from, whoever instilled it in me, I’m not sure, but I have this belief that even when things are bad, everything will come right in time. I truly believe that whatever life throws at you, it’s how you deal with it that counts. Believing in the possibility of happiness and being determined to make sure my children are happy, has seen me through the horrible stuff and out the other side.

Right now happiness is making me smile more than I have in years. My littlest boy told me off yesterday for laughing too much – I laughed even more.

So do you want to know the secret to everlasting happiness?

That’s actually classified information – but I will tell you this:

When someone comes along who makes you happy, and I say someone, because for me, happiness doesn’t come from material things, suddenly the difficult stuff gets easier to deal with. It’s an amazing feeling when happiness ambushes you when you least expect it. There is nothing in the world quite like unexpected happiness. So if you find it, my advice to you is – hold it really tight and don’t ever it let go.

***

He says, by @ADadCalledSpen

“You make me so happy”.

I’ve been told this. Someone looked into my eyes, held my hand and said it to my heart. Spoke to my soul.

And that moment will stay with me forever. I replay it sometimes in my Headbox.

I shouldn’t. I really shouldn’t.

Because it makes me sad. I know I should look back at that moment and smile, because the words were meant. The sadness I have is that I’ve not been able to make that person happy, that happy, for the rest of their life. To give them something, anything that will bring that smile to their face every morning when they wake, when they feel upset, or tired. After all, I’m not that bad. I think people just got in the way.

So being happy makes me sad sometimes. And that’s a bit screwed up isn’t it?

But, all in all, I have a lot to be happy about. I’ve suffered from depression and I’m battling it. Some stuff knocks you for six a bit, but I concentrate on the things in my Life which do make me happy to get over this. My children. Being with them makes me Mr Happy.

What is happiness though?

Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony. Mahatma Gandhi

True happiness comes from the joy of deeds well done, the zest of creating things new. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Happiness is having a scratch for every itch. Ogden Nash

Happiness is health and a short memory. Audrey Hepburn

Happiness is having a large, loving, caring, close-knit family in another city.  George Burns

It’s odd that I’m writing a post about happiness while crying, but Carl Jung wrote ‘the word ‘happiness’ would lose its meaning if it were not balanced by sadness.’ I know what he means.

For some happiness is freedom. For some it’s a good book and a cuppa. For some it’s dogging.

When thinking about happiness I often think of Christopher Biggins. Just LOOK AT HIM. He’s ALWAYS HAPPY. What’s his game?

Happiness, for me, is making a lasagne, silliness, someone resting their feet on you because they feel comfortable doing so, and all those times like that. Thank you.

Happiness, for me, is each second spent with my children.

Happiness. I wish you all lots of it. Always. What does happiness mean to you?

***

Thanks for reading and please leave your comments and thoughts in our comments slit.  What makes you happy?

20 thoughts on “About happiness

  1. I love this – thanks for making me happy on a day where I’m feeling sad about dropping my toddler off at nursery this morning while he was crying. About a million times a day though, he makes me happy when he smiles at me. My 6-wk-old makes me incredibly happy too – just by being her.

  2. A great read although I cried reading it! Happiness to me is not material either. I make a choice to be happy and sometimes it’s not easy. Memories of gran and dad make me happy. Memories of my children when they were little do too. Cleaning does believe it or not as do my children. Doing something for someone else makes me happy too.
    So what happens when a couples idea of happiness are different. When making the other party happy means that someone loses out. What then? I suppose that’s a whole other post!
    Thanks for sharing. Wonderful!

  3. And giggles, baby giggles, giggles with friends. Someone with uncontrollable laughter is infectious. Letting go and dancing around the kitchen, singing at the top of your voice. Can’t help but be happy with those 😉

  4. Happiness is a moment and illusive. Contentment is solid, can be built upon. Happiness is like a fickle teenager saying “It’s not right, it’s not fair!” about random stuff. Happiness sometimes only happens when things are perfect or sometimes *because* they’re not. Contentment is solid, kind of middle aged but reliable.

    Don’t get me wrong, I want the dizzy happiness sometimes but sometimes I can’t stand the comedown, the hangover, the crushing disappointment of real life not matching up to my dreams.

    The other problem with happiness if you’re not careful is you only recognise it when it’s gone. Enjoy the moment for what it is. You might just realise some day it actually makes you (or I) happy.

    A really, really touching post. x

  5. Beautifully written, and thought evoking as ever. I think you both said it, happiness is a very personal thing, and means different things to different people. And yes, sometimes you have to experience the lows to appreciate the happy times and recognise them for what they are.
    Debs x

Leave a Reply

